Chop shock subsides

Beangirl said:
Well holy crap, that sucks!! I know, I know, stuffy boring uptight people will say, “Oh it’s just a haircut, it’s not the end of the world.” Which obviously it isn’t, but IT STILL SUCKS. How you feel about your looks when you’re sleep-deprived and overly-busy and everything else is important. I just can’t imagine what she was thinking.

It will grow out again, but meantime I’d seriously consider going to someone else and having them fix it, even if it means it’s going to be shorter. Having SOME of it be long enough for the haircut you want but the rest nowhere near isn’t going to do you a bit of good. While you’re waiting, you might as well have a GOOD short haircut. Right? (Thus speaks the voice of Experience. Who almost never listens to herself.)

So true. It was hard to feel unpretty. I won’t go to that stylist again, and cancelled all plans to ask her to cut off the straggly underlayer by my neck–her scissors and my hair shouldn’t meet again. But I’d go crazy to cut it any shorter so I’m going to make the best of it.

Bad haircut and growing hair out webpages advised cocnut oil, so I put a little (it’s solid this time of year) on the straggles which helped significantly. A surprising suggestion was to vamp up the rest of your look so you feel prettier, and there’s some distraction. It’s December but I wore a wrap knit dress–my two have short sleeves, so there was no choice there. I put on lipstick and darker eye makeup, since my students told me my hair looked darker (LOL–there’s less hair so the proportion of dark brown roots:red coloured hair is overall darker looking). After two washes and NO blow drying, the poofy fishbowl look died down and tucks behind the ears decently. Cutting off 4″ makes my waves come out in force. I’ve decided that it’s a long shag cut, and with darker makeup I’m going to rock the look rather than timidly step around wincing. Anyway, thanks for listening 🙂 My camera battery died the second I turned it on, but when it recharges I’ll get a photo. It’s alright now!

5 thoughts on “Chop shock subsides

  1. It must be this season. I recently got a haircut which was followed by another (because I didn’t like the first one), and now I just make do. I know a lot of other females who also got a haircut and went shorter than usual. So, perhaps, it’s IN now. But, that doesn’t matter because –

    beauty is in the attitude!

    Happy Holidays!

  2. I hope it’s looking better to you by now. My Mom’s hairdresser did a bad chop job to the back of her head last time. She wore lots of hats. Now, about 3 months later, it looks great!

    Happy New Year to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

