Korean dinner

If you know anything about me, it’s that I *love* Korean food with a passion. I lived in Korea from 1996-7 and picked it up there. As I type I’m devouring a delicious Korean salad, Kong na mool moo chim (Soy bean sprouts salad), that has been known to convert even non-mung bean spouties into sprout aficionados. It’s in Korean Kitchen under Recipes–>Vegetables. If I have any room left for dinner, I have neang myun on the stove, made in a non-traditional way with broccoli–perfect with the mustard oil seasoning!–and tofu, ‘cos I’m veg. Neang myun is a cold summer soup made with buckwheat noodles–delicious! The easiest way to make it is to buy the packaged noodles with packets of bouillion and tiny packs of mustard oil inside. It’s ready now so I’m signing off.

2 thoughts on “Korean dinner

  1. Hey, have you ever had stone bowl Bimbimbap (sp?)?
    I get that all the time here, it’s wonderful, but I can’t find the stone bowl itself to make it at home.

  2. Ooooh, dol sot (hot bowl) bimibap is my favorite Korean dish in the world. Yeah, I’ve made it a lot! You can do it in a jiff by using a small iron miniwok, those are sold around here a lot at upscale cooking stores. Heat it, add some sesame oil and then the rice right afterward. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

