Eye candy

Ouch, I shouldn’t have looked at Kwik Sew’s catalogue.

The heavenly Asian jacket, KS 3460. If it wasn’t made of fat quarters (quilting pieces) it could be something from Shanghai Tang, one of my fave places for inspiration on Asian-fusion mode. I have the cutest BK Chinese bolero Kristine sent me too. That’s on a wait list… Very bad, I know!!! It’s more fitted and therefore should be a second jacket, ideally after this one (ah! good justification, no?)

DH would love me to make him some Western-style shirts, KS 3506. He has a small collection of them in funky fabrics with embroidery, like the one he wore yesterday (from Taiwan): light blue and pink striped seersucker, with tonal blue Western embroidery across the back yoke. He also digs them when some of the edges aren’t finished and they ravel, like in the button stand or along the yoke edges. I could be verrrrry tempted i*if* I had an embroidery machine 😉 Might as well do it right! He’d also like me to make the bowling shirts KS 3484, which are a reasonable intro to shirt-sewing as they are much easier than the Western shirts. But! I have a similar OOP pattern I actually bought On Sale in Europe…! At the $$$ Porte de Namur area fabric store, no less. It’s got raglan sleeves with no darts, so they will puff out a bit. Oh well. It’s still unmade, like 95% of my patterns, so it’s in good company. LOL!

“Real” sewing: I traced Butterick’s faux wrap dress last night that Kristine sent me! Last weekend the Ixelles/Porte de Namur area had a street party and the fabric store had a sale. I picked up a lovely tonal brown floral viscose-lycra knit to make it in (niggle: some flowers are too big for my frame). My Neue Mode maternity-looking dress is ready to be cut but I’m having second/third thoughts on my choice of fabric, a rayon-blend crepe, so it languishes. I think this crepe would look better in a simpler dress.

Leave a Reply

